Vegetable Fritters

Shit these were good.

fritters

I stumbled up on this number on my aforementioned hunt for healthy recipes and it’s been on my mind since I found it. I attempted to make it a few days ago but we were missing a few key ingredients… mainly the eggs it calls for. Princess Kona dog has an egg every morning with her dog food which is probably why she’s so soft and floofy.

I actually did every ounce of preparation before realizing we didn’t have any eggs so its been sitting in the fridge since Tuesday. I hate that feeling. Nothing breaks my heart more than pouring a bowl of cereal and realizing you have no milk. #firstworldproblems

I went a little rogue on the ingredients which is unusual for me on a first time recipe. I used sweet potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, and black beans. I’m stupid in love with sweet potatoes, I’ll jump on any opportunity to use them in a recipe. And black beans are just delicious and a great source of fiber. We had a huge bag of broccoli and cauliflower mix that I needed to get rid of so this recipe is great if you have vegetables in your fridge you’re afraid might go bad.

Because I had left the vegetables mixed with the flour sitting in the fridge since Tuesday the mixture was a little sticky. I was worried it might mess with the texture once I started cooking them but they were fine. Maybe a smidge soggy. The egg whites the recipe calls for seemed to revive them nicely. Fun Fact, if anyone owns a ninja you can totally use one of those to whip your egg whites. I had to Google it to be sure but it worked great.

fritterdough

They fried up nicely once I got the egg whites whipped. My only complaint is that they weren’t as crispy as I would have liked. I think part of that might be how soggy the flour got sitting in the fridge. Initially I wanted to serve them with grilled chicken or something for dinner but FF and I ended up enjoying them this afternoon served with a fried egg. It was soo good. Even FF who curled his nose up a bit at “vegetable fritters” gave his stamp of approval. He suggested next time adding some Cayenne Pepper to give it a nice spice.

fry

I’m on a goat cheese kick. I bought some a few weeks ago when I made ratatouille with my mom (which was excellent btw). The recipe I found said the dish is traditionally served with rice but to try it with goat cheese. Damn that was good. Since the leftover cheese has been in my fridge I’ve been trying to add it to whatever I can. On a whim I decided to pair it with the fritters, before I broke open the yolk. Mother of God. Goat cheese has such a distinct taste but it was so complimentary to the almost bland flavor of the fritters.

eggs

I need to try a terrible recipe or burn something so it doesn’t sound like I’m full of shit every time I blog about delicious food.

That’s why you trust a skinny chef, they choose…wisely.

Leave a Reply

